Perspective: Confidence

Posted: September 18, 2015 in Perspective
Tags: , , , , , , ,

confidenceI can remember years ago, at the age of 17, preparing to go to the Navy recruiter’s office in my hometown. I was anxious, a little fearful and apprehensive. After all, I was a ‘kid’, didn’t know what to expect and totally felt intimidated by the experience. Looking back now, it seems a bit silly, but sitting before the recruiter, I stuttered a bit, nervously answered his questions and was a bit overwhelmed. What ‘saved’ me however, was my dad. He had gone with me. He sat with me in the recruiter’s office, assisted me answering questions, asked the recruiter to clarify some things and ultimately helping me feel confident in the recruiter’s presence.

I think these same types of feelings and emotions can happen when we come to God with our concerns, fears and desires. Have you ever ‘stuttered’ in prayer, felt anxious, fearful, apprehensive and overwhelmed? I totally have. Sometimes, I need to remind myself that I’m not going into God’s presence alone. If I believe and trust in Jesus, then the bible says that he goes with me… he intercedes for me and helps me be confident in God’s presence. Being with Jesus in God’s presence – there should be nothing to fear. In fact, God welcomes me with open arms.

Now we can come fearlessly right into God’s presence, assured of his glad welcome when we come with Christ and trust in him.’ – Eph 3:12

Leave a Reply

