giftI love gifts… who doesn’t, right?! I like receiving gifts; knowing that someone cared and thought about me really fills my ‘love tank’. I also like being a gift to others as well; giving of myself to encourage, support and up-lift those around me is also pretty awesome in my book.

For many years, when it came to God though, I certainly considered myself much more of a ‘burden’ to Him than a ‘gift’. With as many mistakes, wrong turns and spouts of rebelliousness I’ve had to offer, how could I possibly be anything else?

Then, came Ephesians 1:11 –

Moreover, because of what Christ has done, we have become gifts to God that he delights in… ‘

Despite how I may view myself at times, this verse brings me great peace. It says that I am a gift to God, not because of what I have done or not done, but I am a gift to God because of ‘what Christ has done’. Whew! That certainly relieves a lot of pressure!

By Jesus offering himself on the cross, a gift to us from God, we have become that which God delights in. Now that’s good stuff! Finding that place in my heart that rests in what Jesus has done alone – to let settle in my spirit that God delights in me, is a great place to be.

Leave a Reply

