Perspective: Weight-lifter

Posted: August 29, 2015 in Perspective
Tags: , , , , , ,

WeightlifterKinda cool the kind of conversations I can get into wearing a shirt like this to the gym. I could write a book called ‘The Gospel According to (the) Gym’.

Anyway, recently got into a conversation at the gym regarding the variety of environments we can be born into and how they can significantly affect our personal view of ourselves as we grow. One particular story that was shared with me was about someone being ‘conceived’ from a marital affair, being told they were an ‘accident’, ‘shouldn’t have happened’, etc. It made me think about how many stories like that or similar are out there and how they can and have negatively affected a person’s self esteem, self worth/value and view on life. A few thoughts on this:

Regardless of how our kid’s were ‘conceived’, NEVER… EVER tell them they were an ‘accident’, ‘not planned’, an ‘oops’… or whatever our crazy brains can come up with. Don’t even joke around with those words… even if our kids would laugh… guaranteed that in some way it will negatively affect them. It can diminish our ability to achieve the improbable and overcome the impossible when ‘I can’t’ becomes the result of ‘I’m not supposed to be here anyway.’ It happens, even if not spoken out loud.

Regardless of how children/we were conceived in the ‘flesh’, we are ultimately created by God still the same. There are no accidents, ‘un-planned’ or ‘oopses’ in God’s eyes. ‘Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.’ – Psalms 150:6

If you were told you were an ‘accident’… IT’S NOT TRUE! Regardless of the circumstances surrounding our conception, knowing we were created by God with great value and a distinct purpose should help us move past the sometimes ‘negative’ words and into our significant worth and value.

Jesus himself came from a lineage of liars, prostitutes, murders and adulterers… and was born in a barn to an ‘un-wed’ young mom. Call me crazy, but that’s not the most glamorous family tree or way to enter the world. Yet, what was obviously the most important aspect of His life, was not how he necessarily came into the world but what he came for… how He lived His life… His purpose and value to humanity – past, present and future.

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made… My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.’ – Psalms 139:13-16

Leave a Reply

