Perspective: Yo-Yo

Posted: July 11, 2015 in Perspective
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Yo Yo‘Everything about us is bare and wide open to the all-seeing eyes of our living God; nothing can be hidden from him to whom we must explain all that we have done. But Jesus the Son of God is our great High Priest who has gone to heaven itself to help us… This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses… So let us come boldly to the very throne of God and stay there to receive his mercy and to find grace to help us in our times of need.’ – Hebrews 4:13-16

I remember as a young boy breaking a favorite vase of my mom’s with a yo-yo. For the few moments after the incident before my mom came running, I can remember trying to come up in my mind with a reasonable explanation to the ‘accident’. As you can imagine, trying to defend myself when I know I’d messed up was quite futile. Although my yo-yo did end up in the fireplace, the punishment could have been so much worse… after all, it was a favorite.

Likewise, the thought of having to explain myself, my life’s actions, my mistakes, wrong choices, etc. before God surely is a futile attempt at justifying myself to a God who not only knows what I’ve done, but also the motivations behind my actions and those my actions have hurt. Although, there are consequences for my decisions here on earth, I am thankful that I have a High Priest (Jesus), my Heavenly ‘defense attorney’… that took away my need to justify myself before God. He says to us that if we believe in Him, at the cross of Calvary, we are declared not guilty.

‘He who the Son sets free is free indeed’ – John 8:36

Leave a Reply

