Perspective: The Moon

Posted: June 5, 2015 in Perspective
Tags: , , , ,

The MoonThe other day I met a young guy at the gym whose name was ‘Jericho’. Pretty cool name! Believing in the power of names, I asked him if he knew what his name meant. He did not, saying that he grew up in an LDS family and as far as he knew it was just the name of a city out of the bible. Curious, I looked it up and came ‘armed’ the next time I saw him with what I thought was pretty awesome!

When I told him that I looked it up, he acted surprised, but nothing compared to when I told him that the name Jericho, indeed came from the biblical city, also referred to as ‘the city of the moon” or having to do with the moon. Then I said, “You know what the moon does…? It shines light into the darkness. Jericho, your name was no accident. God has called you to shine His light into the darkness of this world.” I wish I could have taken a picture of the immediate big smile on his (and my) face… as though a light bulb had just when on in his head.

My point is simply this… there’s great joy for us and others when we intentionally strive to invest in others. And sometimes, the biggest impact we can make in the life of another can come in the most unique and unexpected ways.

‘His life is the light that shines through the darkness—and the darkness can never extinguish it.’ – John 1:5

Leave a Reply

