Perspective: Joy

Posted: April 25, 2015 in Perspective
Tags: , , , , , ,

JoyPerspective: Joy

 “I just want to be happy’ is a common answer to life’s ambitions. And I think this answer pleases God as well, but being happy seems to elude many of us. In the book of John chapter 15, Jesus states that He desires His joy to be in us so that our joy may be complete. I believe this is the key to why so many people live most of their lives unhappy – we don’t live with His joy inside us, therefore we don’t live ‘complete’ joyous lives. ‘Complete’ means continuous, all the pieces together and no gaps or holes. We are human, so joy 100% of the time is virtually not possible, but I think we could all live at least a few percentages higher on the ‘joy-meter’. How? There are a few points:

  1. It’s impossible to live a ‘complete’ joyous life without God’s joy within us. It is His joy that fills the ‘gaps’ when outside influences would otherwise cause us to live the opposite of joy. His joy within us comes from developing a relationship with Him.
  2. No surprise that ‘Joy’ is mentioned 214 times in the bible (NIV). We need to fill ourselves with these scriptures.
  3. One thing that has helped me overcome times of the ‘lack of joy’, has been to look at my situations from a ‘bigger picture’. This perspective always seems to give me a different perspective.
  4. In the scripture mentioned above – John 15, Jesus connects Love with Joy – staying (being secure) in His love and showing that same love to others. Makes sense – those who show love the most are often the most happiest of people.

‘If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. “I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. My commandment is this: love one another, just as I love you.’ – John 15:10-12

Leave a Reply

