Diggin’ In – Psalms 91: I will… give God some TLC

Posted: April 6, 2013 in Diggin' In to Psalms 91
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

digging dog3Diggin’ In – Psalms 91: I will… give God some TLC

14The Lord says, “I will rescue those who love me. I will protect those who trust in my name.

15 When they call on me, I will answer; I will be with them in trouble. I will rescue and honor them.

16 I will reward them with a long life and give them my salvation.”

As we come to the final segment of this amazing chapter, it seems quite fitting that it closes with the very words of God… quoted. In verses 1-13, David is sharing the benefits of drawing close to the Lord, making Him alone our refuge and safety and the powerful effects of relying upon His faithful promises; all from his own knowledge and experiences. Then he closes his writing by validating and summarizing this knowledge with the very words of God that brings his point home. Let’s dig deeper:

Did you recognize that in the span of these three closing verses, God makes six very distinct promises? He says “I will…’ six times!

 ‘I will rescue…’

‘I will protect…’

‘I will answer…’rescue pix

‘I will be with them…’

‘I will rescue and honor…’

‘I will reward…’

I love this! It’s personal. God wants us close. These promises come when we give God some TLC –

To ‘… those who Trust in my name.’

To ‘… those who Love me.’

‘ When they Call on me…’

I think sometimes we wonder why God hasn’t acted or responded more on our behalf in the midst of our situations, yet if we were to step back and take another look, we might see that we are not doing our part. We all want to be rescued, protected, honored and rewarded and I believe that God truly wants to give us these. But, His priority and focus is for us to be close to Him. God wants a little TLC. Could I even go as far as to say that they are proportionate… the closer we are to Him, the more these promises will come alive in our lives? Just maybe…?

Jesus, thank you that your promises are so awesome – custom made for me. I want to do my part so I can see them come alive in my life. Thank you for helping me. Amen.

Other scripture references:

“This is God’s Message…: ‘Call to me and I will answer you. I’ll tell you marvelous and wondrous things that you could never figure out on your own.’ Jeremiah 33:3

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”  Matthew 11:28-30

 

Leave a Reply

