RememberingI will [earnestly] recall the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will [earnestly] remember the wonders [You performed for our fathers] of old. I will meditate also upon all Your works and consider all Your [mighty] deeds. Psalm 77:11-12

Sometimes I can get frustrated with myself because my memory can be so bad! Some things (like numbers) I seem to remember easily. But, then there are names and details of specific events that can seem wiped from my ‘hard drive’. Grrr!

I’ve learned though, that sometimes life can be this way, especially when it comes to remembering the faithfulness of God in my life in times past. I can be faced with a challenging situation or a hard decision and act like it’s the first time anything difficult has come my way. How easily I can forget that I’ve been here before and God has always proven Himself faithful. I can forget that the last time I was afraid, His peace calmed my mind and heart. I can forget that the last time I didn’t know what to do, God showed me the right path. I can forget that the last time I needed His provision, He gave in abundance.

I would venture to say that I’m not the only one that faces this dilemma. The psalmist above seemed tflashback1o be facing very difficult circumstances as well, but gives an interesting resolve to how he overcame. First, he says, ‘I will recall the deeds of the Lord’. Then, he states, ‘I will remember the wonders…’. And lastly, he sums it up, ‘I will meditate also upon all Your works…’ I believe he is laying out a pattern here to help us call to mind the awesome things God has done in our lives before, so that we don’t keep circling the same mountain of fear, doubt and anxiousness whenever we are faced with difficult situations.

The pattern he lays out is a three-step approach, in order –

–         recall (the process/beginning of remembering) that God is faithful

–         remember (to choose to retain in the memory) God’s wonderful faithfulness in times past

–         meditate (deliberately ponder, think about, consider) on how God was faithful and how His is still mighty to save

Tflashback2his is how he gets those memories planted deep within his heart. It is a known fact that the events in our lives we remember the most are those that have an emotion attached to them. And it often, it takes the deliberate act of meditating on God’s faithfulness in times past to engage it with an emotion. But once we’ve done that, it will be forever engrained in our heart. Why was this so important to the psalmist (and should be to us as well)? He knew that gaining the faith and trust in God to face his challenges only came through first, experiencing God’s faithfulness firsthand and then being able to plant it deep in his heart to use whenever the need arose in the future.

Comments
  1. I’m a visual person and I love what you did with the addition of characters!!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

Leave a Reply

