The Morning

 

Answer me speedily, O Lord, for my spirit fails; hide not Your face from me, lest I become like those who go down into the pit (the grave). Cause me to hear Your loving-kindness in the morning, for on You do I lean and in You do I trust. Cause me to know the way wherein I should walk, for I lift up my inner self to You.Psalm 143:7-8

I am a planner and an organizer down to my core. It’s the way God ‘wired’ me. However, as all of God’s gifts go, if not kept in their proper place and healthy perspective, can also work against me. More often than I’d like to admit, when a challenge arises or a decision needs to be made, my organizer/planner brain immediately kicks in and I begin to ‘go to work’. The problem that arises with this is that I forget or bypass the most important part of problem solving… prayer; talking to God and asking Him for direction and wisdom. He’s a whole lot smarter than I am and besides, the bible says that He already knows what the ‘right’ answer is anyway (Isa 55:9, Jer 33:3, Prov 19:21). I know this, but at times, I still don’t do it. It’s called pride.

I like David’s approach to problem solving. As he pours out his heart to God as described in the above scripture, there are a few key points that we can draw from his prayer that can help us.

  1. Humility – David’s heart was humble before God. He recognizes that without Him, he is doomed.
  2. Morning – Note that David prays to hear God in the morning. Before his day unfolds, he engages God in it from the start. He is telling God that he needs him the entire day.
  3. Lean on – He makes it clear that it is God alone that he trusts and needs. He can’t do life without Him.
  4. Direction – David recognizes that God already knows the ‘right’ path he should take.
  5. Humility – Yes, David begins and ends his prayer to God with a heart of humility. He also knows that God looks at his heart; what’s really inside, as he offers up his ‘inner self’ to Him.

My prayer for you and I is that we will approach life with a heart like David’s. There is no substitute for living a life with a heart devoted to engaging God every step of the way.

Leave a Reply

