Image‘Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding. In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.’ Proverbs 3:5-6 (Amplified)

Choosing not to lean on, trust in and live confidently in Him is like not using crutches after a leg injury, though, honestly not being able to stand on my own. I’d hobble around, most likely causing further damage to my injuries or at least keeping me from healing up; all the while those crutches sit in the corner capable of helping me, but remain unused. My pride says  I don’t need the crutches; a little pain meds to numb the reality of my circumstances and I’ll be okay.

But the truth is that the doctor would tell me that after the surgery to repair the broken leg, I would need to use crutches for a while to the keep pressure off while it healed. I do need those crutches and I do need God. Some years ago, Jesse Ventura referenced organized religion as being a crutch for weak-minded people. I would have to agree… at least the God part of religion. Is He really like a ‘crutch’? Humbly, I say ‘Yes’, for I know that I am broken, hurt and wounded. I have tried the ‘hobble around on my own’ way of getting along in my life. It doesn’t work. It doesn’t make anything better. In fact, it makes things worse. The ‘injuries’ don’t heal and further complications arise as I try to cope with my wrong decisions. I’ve seen these type of circumstances drive people to increasing amounts of ‘numbing’ elements like pain meds, alcohol or other drugs. All of these though, often just mask the truth of our dire situations. And if continued we will never get better and our injuries will begin to not only affect us, but those around us as well. Over time we will begin distancing and isolating ourselves from others (especially those who can help); eventually waking up one morning feeling alone, destitute and in more pain than we ever thought possible.

But it doesn’t have to be this way. Just as crutches were designed to be leaned on for support. God wants us to ‘lean on’ Him.

Leave a Reply

