Leverage – Part 1: Borrowed Capital

Posted: September 23, 2012 in Leverage
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leverage – Part 1: I’ve had this word that has been ‘floating’ around in my head for a few weeks now. It was used in a sermon at church about Heaven… and it keeps coming to the forefront of my mind… the work is ‘Leverage’. I will share as I receive more, but today… the definition of ‘leverage’ in the verb form is – to use borrowed capital for (an investment), expecting the profits made to be greater than the interest payable.

As I contemplated this, I thought of my life as a child of God. All that I have is like ‘borrowed capital’. It’s really not mine. God blesses me with abilities, talents, possessions, relationships, etc., but they are really His ‘capital’ that I’ve been given to manage and invest. There will come a time though when God will want to collect the ‘interest’ on what he has loaned me. But if I don’t ‘invest’ what He has given me for the better, growth and blessing of Him and His Kingdom, I will never accrue the interest He wants to see. God, as the ‘bank manager’, considers me a good risk, therefore approving the ‘loan’ with the hopes and expectation that not only will He get is ‘capital’ back with ‘interest’, but that as a wise investor, I will reap a bounty as well. But again, I have to want to invest it, make a plan to invest and then invest. Capital left un-invested ends up being wasted on things that are meaningless and unimportant and in the end, we are left with not only no interest, but our initial capital is usually gone as well.

Leave a Reply

