Off the ‘top of my head’ I can’t remember reading anything so distinctly profound and so clearly stated regarding trusting God, than I read this morning in Jeremiah 17 (NLT) –

5 This is what the Lord says: “Cursed are those who put their trust in mere humans, who rely on human strength and turn their hearts away from the Lord.

6 They are like stunted shrubs in the desert, with no hope for the future.  They will live in the barren wilderness, in an uninhabited salty land.

7 “But blessed are those who trust in the Lord
 and have made the Lord their hope and confidence.
 8 They are like trees planted along a riverbank,
 with roots that reach deep into the water.
 Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they never stop producing fruit.

I don’t think I really ever looked at not trusting God as a curse before!  In fact, when I first read it, my first thought was, “Why would not trusting God be a curse?” The more I thought about it though, the more it made sense.  We live in one world with two opposing forces constantly at work… God trying to build us up and the Devil trying to tear us down.  There are no other options or forces in our lives. Both of these forces are strong and consistent – the same and don’t change. So, why does our life seem at times to ebb and flow with blessings and curses? The ‘variable’ in this equation is you and me – the main factor being how much we are trusting God in every area of our lives. Our ‘level’ of our trust in God is directly proportional to the amount of ‘blessings’ and ‘curses’ we will encounter over our lifetime. The more we trust Him, the more blessings come our way (and less curses)… the less we trust Him, the more curses (and fewer blessings) come our way.

A thief (the Devil) is only there to steal and kill and destroy. I (Jesus) came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed of. John 10:10

In this passage, Jesus confirms the very distinct contrast between these two opposing forces in our lives.  One is ‘hell-bent’ on trying to take us down and the other is ‘heaven-sent’ on trying to lift us up. I am sure, that like myself, there have been times in your life when it would seem as though there were way more ‘curses’ flowing our way than blessings.  I can tell you from personal experience, in every case, the issue does boil down to ‘trusting God’.  Either, ‘bad’ stuff is happening because I am not trusting God in specific areas of my life or God is allowing ‘bad’ stuff to happen to see and test whether or not I will choose to trust Him – even when life doesn’t make sense.  Either way, it’s a matter of trust.

God, I know you love me and always have my best interest in mind. Help me to trust you in every area of my life – even when life just doesn’t make sense. Amen.

Leave a Reply

