Planning for the future

Over the last month or so, my wife and I have been feeling a ‘stirring’ that a change is coming in the not to distant future and we need to begin preparing financially for it. We are not exactly sure what is coming, but we know that God does and we trust Him. So, if He is prompting us to do something, we surely want to move in that direction. As we’ve begun this journey of utilizing the bits of information that we believe the Lord has placed within us and praying through those, there has been one very significant lesson that we are learning in the process – When planning for our financial future, don’t make money the goal

I know, that may sound a bit strange, but it’s true. 1Timothy 6:7-19, describes what we’ve been learning:

We brought nothing into the world, so we can take nothing out. But, if we have food and clothes, we will be satisfied with that. Those who want to become rich bring temptation to themselves and are caught in a trap. They want many foolish and harmful things that ruin and destroy people. The love of money causes all kinds of evil. Some people have left the faith, because they wanted to get more money, but they have caused themselves much sorrow… Command those who are rich with things of this world not to be proud. Tell them to hope in God, not in their uncertain riches. God richly gives us everything to enjoy. Tell the rich people to do good, to be rich in doing good deeds, to be generous and ready to share. By doing that, they will be saving a treasure for themselves as a strong foundation for the future. Then they will be able to have the life that is true life.

In a nutshell, God is showing us that it is not bad to be wealthy, but as we plan and prepare for our financial future, He wants our hope to be in Him, not in the pursuit of an increased bank account. Also, He is reminding us that He can bring far more by me just being obedient with the small things He has given me to do, than I can do myself, spending countless hours pursing ‘money’ via my own interests and desires. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and He will give you everything you need (Matt. 6:33 NLT).

True financial success will come in my life when I choose to –
1.     Be obedient and follow through with what He is leading me to do. Start by being faithful in the small things. Keep it simple.

2.     Leave the amount of money and how fast I will earn it up to God.  Money in itself is not bad… but I can’t let it be consuming.

3.     Be wise in my earning/spending/investing – a ‘good steward’ of the opportunities He has given me

4.     Set right and healthy priorities and stick to them.  The pursuit of money can quickly overtake everything I do and become my #1 priority.  God wants my relationship with Him to be #1, then my wife/husband/family… etc.  The time I spend with each is my first clue.

Don’t wear yourself out trying to get rich – wise people learn to control themselves. Prov. 23:4


Leave a Reply

