Inspecting Fruit

It’s cherry harvest time again in our region!  As some of you know, I farmed cherries for about six years in Yakima.  Farming definitely taught me many spiritual lessons and analogies that continue to challenge me today.

Have you ever been in a situation where the ‘spirit’ inside of you is telling you to do one thing and the human, or ‘flesh’ part of you wants to do another? What ensues seems to be a back and forth ‘argument’ between you and the Holy Spirit that lives within.  We posture, we justify, we debate… trying to rationalize and defend our own position. I had one of those moments yesterday.  An opportunity arose to help and offer assistance to someone in need. I would like to say that my immediate response was ‘absolutely’ and ‘yes’… but that wasn’t the case. I knew what the ‘right’ answer was, but my mind kept trying to justify a different answer… or at least an answer that was part ‘Godly’ and part ‘me’. Well, God doesn’t like to compromise or share His glory with anyone…any ‘me’ part is usually selfish in nature and takes God out of the picture. The Lord desires His ‘fruit’, not mine, to be hanging on the ‘Brian” tree.

But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.

 (Gal. 5:22-23)

The Lord was quick to challenge me… or as I heard a pastor say, “The Fruit Inspector came for an assessment of my fruit”.  In that instance, it was clear my fruit was a little ‘damaged’ and not meeting ‘grade’. I had to choose to submit to what I knew was right, ask for forgiveness for my wrong attitude and then follow thru and actually do the right thing. Once I did this, there was great joy and peace in my spirit…

I know God loves me and is continually molding me and shaping me to be more like Jesus.

Brian


Comments
  1. […] Inspecting Fruit (brianhetzer.wordpress.com) LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

