In God We Trust…

Posted: June 12, 2011 in The Bounty and the Booty - all about money
Tags: , , , ,

I was a local park on Friday, at my granddaughter’s birthday party. As I was chit-chattin’ with other parents, I got into a conversation with one of the other dads. We quickly got on the subject of money, as we both have owned small businesses. We discussed the challenges that come from owning your own business, the economic state of our country and American’s general view of the almighty dollar bill. The focus of our discussion turned toward what the bible says about money and how quickly greed and selfishness can creep into our lives when our focus becomes the gain of more money. Why? When all we want is more… ‘more’ will never be enough.

We talked about how the bible does not say that ‘money’ in itself is bad… but it is the ‘love’ of money that corrupts… we can’t serve both God and money and how quickly money can become our ‘god’. I was really lovin’ our conversation when my friend said something that really struck me profoundly. He said – I‘ve often looked at the ‘In God We Trust’ on the dollar bill and have been amazed at how long it has lasted in the face of seeming insurmountable odds against everything “Godly’ in our country. I wonder, he continued to say, if that ‘In God We Trust’ was not originally inspired by God himself to be a continual reminder to each of us that it is in God that we should put our trust… not in the ‘dollar’ that we hold in our hand. For as we know, often times, money is ‘easy come… easy go’, but Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever (Hebrews 13:8). How better it is to put our trust is what we know to be a ‘for sure thing’ – instead of something that is here today and gone tomorrow.

Jeremiah 17:7 says ‘But blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD, whose confidence is in him.”  What that tells me is that I don’t have to fight, scratch, beg, borrow, steal and cheat to be ‘blessed’… I just have to trust in God alone and put my confidence in Him!  In God We (I) Trust…

Leave a Reply

