Peace in the End Times

So we always have courage… We live by what we believe, not by what we can see. So I say that we have courage. (2 Cor 5:6-8)

One of my dogs (Lucy) loves to chase toys.  She is a small 20 lb. terrier mix with tons of energy.  Her favorite toy is a miniature tennis ball that we throw for her to chase – and boy does she chase it!  She is focused and determined to chase, catch, hoard, bark at, chew on and covet that little ball… even to the point that when we’ve been throwing it awhile and she gets tired, she will take the ball with her into her kennel to protect it while she rests so that no one will steal it.  Every so often, we will through her a ‘curve ball’ and pull out a second miniature tennis ball to throw around.  When we toss both of them,  it’s quite funny actually, to watch her try and chase both of them at the same time.  She gets confused and will try and put both of them in her mouth at the same time… but only one will fit.

Believing and seeing (as reference in the above verse) are like these two miniature tennis balls.  It can be ‘fun’ chasing both of them – engaging each one dependant upon what feels good at the time.  But, just like Lucy and her two tennis balls, when it comes down to grabbing hold of them, we only have the capacity to hold on to one – believing or seeing.  When our world seems to be going ‘downhill’ – the economy is ‘tanking’, crime is increasing, some of our relationships may be on the ‘rocks’, we can ‘see’ all of that and it would be easy to allow frustration, despair and worry to take over our mind.  On the other hand, what we ‘believe’ is what really matters.  What we believe can stand above all the chaos and shed light into the darkness.  As 2 Corinthians 5:6-8 states – when we choose to live by what we believe, it is then that we can have courage to live strong.  But, when we choose to live by what we see, we will be tossed around in our minds like a boat in the middle of a storm.  The world around us is always changing, so if we rely upon that ‘world’ for our direction, guidance, support, encouragement and help – we will continually struggle to find peace, stability and focus.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to live like that.  I want to choose to live, not by what I see going on around me, but by what I believe – which is that I serve a God that is bigger.  I serve a God that is the same yesterday, today and forever. I serve a God that loves me and always has my best interest in mind.  I serve a God who wants to be my best friend and have a relationship with me.  I serve a God who will provide for me, protect me and care for me when everything else seems to be falling apart.  That’s what I choose to believe.  That’s why I can have ‘peace in the end times’.

Peace,

Brian

Leave a Reply

