Do you FROG?

I’ve often had people say to me, “God will not give me anything more than I can handle.” And each time I’ve heard that, it has puzzled me.  It just didn’t quite make sense.  If that were true, then why do people commit suicide?  If that were true, then why do people drown their problems in drugs and alcohol, the divorce rate so high, infidelity rampant? If that were true, why do so many people run away from God during difficult times?

God will not give me anything more than I can handle”  – there has to be something more to it than that.  I would often roll this around in my mind, trying to make sense of it.  Then one day, I came across this scripture verse and the ‘light bulb’ came on:

“The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.” 1 Corinthians 10:13

What I realized is that when people only say, “God will not give me anything more than I can handle,” they are missing a very important piece. .. kind of like trying to make a PB&J without the ‘J’. This missing peace is found at the end of verse 13 above – “…He will show you a way out so that you can endure.” The problem we have when life’s difficulties come upon us is that we too often don’t fully rely on God (F.R.O.G) to help us.  We act as though God has been caught off guard by our situation and that He is either unaware of our struggles or unable to do anything about them.

There have been times when the ‘wake-up call’ has come for me and I have had to look myself in the mirror and say “Brian, Hello! Earth to Brian – stop flopping around like a fish out of water (mentally, emotionally, etc.)! God already knew this challenge was coming, has also already provided a way out.”  I have to remind myself of this often.  There is no challenge, no difficulty or trial that I could ever go through that God hasn’t already planned the ‘escape route’ or a path through, in advance.  I just don’t always ask for His help, or I choose to try my own way instead.

“You saw me before I was born and scheduled each day of my life before I even began to breath.  Every day was recorded in your Book.” Psalm 139:16

It is amazing to me (and hard to wrap my mind around) to think and know that God knew my whole life before I was even born.  He knew all the places I would live, all the choices I would make (good and bad), who I would marry, my work, my hobbies and all the challenges and difficulties I would face in my lifetime… before any of them even happened!  So I have to ask myself the question, “If I believe this, then why don’t I F.R.O.G (fully rely on God) in every situation and in all circumstances?  Even in the midst of my own poor choices and mistakes, the bible says that God’s plans for me are amazingly still good –

“For I know the plans that I have for you,” declares the Lord, “not to harm you, but to prosper you; to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

God will not give me anything more than I can handle (as long as I trust, that) He will show (me) a way out so that (I) can endure.” The key here is God himself provides the way out… the help… the escape. I run into trouble when I try and fix all my problems myself… without His help. I remember times in my own life where if I would have just asked God for help first and waited patiently for His answer, I would have avoided making a bigger mess of my situation.

Lord, when difficult times come, help me to stop long enough to at least ask You for help and the patience to allow You the time to show me your answer.  Help me to F.R.O.G in every circumstance and in every situation in my life for I know that you love me and you always have my best interest in mind. Amen!

Comments
  1. Rhonda says:

    Brian,
    This was very good, I will remember to FROG.
    God bless you,
    Rhonda

    • Sabrina Young says:

      Brian,

      This was really good! I enjoyed reading it! I hope everything is going well in Tricities, we miss you guys!

      • brian hetzer says:

        Hey Sabrina – Thank you! We miss all of you as well! Life here is good; different but good – we know we are here for a reason and a season and remain excited and in great anticipation to whatever God has for us! Psalm 52:9b – I will trust You because You are good!

  2. Robin henry says:

    I just loved this weeks Reloaded regarding FROG, i am going to print a couple copies out to mail to people who dont have computers. Thanks for writing this short sermon Brian.

Leave a Reply

