Prayer and Fasting for Uncle Leo

Posted: February 28, 2011 in Family Ties - relationships

Prayer and Fasting for Uncle Leo

I will try and make this request and explanation as short and simple as possible 🙂

Over the last couple of weeks, my heart has been heavy for uncle Leo, aunt Jo and our family.  From what aunt Jo has told me, the doctors are pretty sure he (uncle Leo) has small cell lung cancer (in an area of his lungs that surgery is almost impossible) and they are pretty sure the cancer is moving into his bones.  At this point, they are planning on trying to attack it with chemotherapy and radiation treatments, but statistically speaking, the odds are low that they will completely kill the cancer.

Which brings me to the ‘now’.  Although, I’ve been praying for Leo since the start of this thing, over the last few days, I’ve been feeling a strong prompting in my heart to focus specifically three days on fasting and praying for him.  Today (Sunday), I found out that uncle Leo has his Oncologist (cancer doctor) appointment this Wednesday.  Praying today, felt prompted by God to make the specific three days of fasting and praying for Leo in conjunction with his upcoming appointment.  I believe God is in the midst of doing something incredible here and if He says to fast and pray, I want to obey that.  I will be fasting and praying for Leo, Monday through Wednesday of this week.

I am asking my family to join me.  I apologize for the short notice, but this all came together today.  For those who may not know what ‘fasting’ is or have never done it – fasting is a way of ‘setting ourselves apart’ before God for a specific period of time for a specific purpose.  Fasting usually involves going without food.  I am not asking each of you to go all three days without food, but I am asking you to pick at least one meal during the three days to ‘fast’.  Instead of eating, you would spend the time praying.  For example, I choose to ‘fast’ lunch on Tuesday.  So, during my 30 minutes of lunch, instead of eating, I go for a walk and spend the time praying… talking to God on uncle Leo’s behalf. Here are a couple of examples:

Lord, thank you that you love us and care about us deeply.  I don’t always understand why things happen in this world, but I believe that you are aware of our hurts and pains.  And speaking of hurts and pains, Jesus, I am coming before you on behalf of uncle Leo and his cancer.  Your bible says that you died on the cross, not only so that I can be forgiven of my sins, but also so that healing could come to our bodies, minds and hearts.  So, Jesus, I ask that you would touch uncle Leo’s body and heal him.  I believe that you can do this.  In Jesus’ name – amen!

Heavenly Father, You have written in Your Word “How God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and with power: who went about doing good, and healing all that were oppressed, hurting and sick – for God was with him.” Acts 10:38. God, on behalf of uncle Leo, please send your healing power into his body in Jesus Mighty Name. Father, I curse the root cause of this disease and declare that your healing flow through him in Jesus Powerful Name, Amen.

Here are some biblical examples behind what I am asking of us:

King David fasted – Ps 35:13 Yet when they were ill, I put on sackcloth and humbled myself with fasting.

Daniel fasted – Dan. 9:3 So I turned to the Lord God and pleaded with him in prayer and petition, in fasting,

Jesus’ disciples tried to heal a man, but couldn’t.  Jesus responded by saying “This kind can come out only by prayer and fasting.” Mark 9:29

Matthew 19:26 Jesus replied “With man it is impossible, but with God nothing is impossible.”

Matthew 7:7-11

7 “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.

8 For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.

Matthew 21:22

22 And whatever things you ask in prayer, believing that you will receive them and they will be yours.

John 16:23-24

23 “And in that day you will ask Me nothing. Most assuredly, I say to you, whatever you ask the Father in My name He will give you. 24 Until now you have asked nothing in My name. Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full.

1 John 5:14-15

14 Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.

15 And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.

__________________________

I am asking for as many of uncle Leo’s family (who are able) to fast and pray together before the Lord.  In Matthew 18:20, Jesus says Where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.” So, when we come together as a family in prayer, we are inviting Jesus into the middle of the situation… which will always be a good thing!  I feel a stirring in my heart that God is in the midst of doing something awesome in uncle Leo and in our family.  Will you join me on Uncle Leo’s behalf?

Again, I apologize for the short notice. Please let me know if you are able to participate in this time of prayer and fasting.  There is no pressure here.  Just do what you are able to do today (Monday) thru Wednesday – one day, one meal, etc.  If you are unsure if you can fast a meal, ask the Lord to ‘grace’ you with the ability to do this.  Either way, praying together is the key.  It is what gets God’s attention.  I love you all!!

I am sending this to family whom I have connection with via Facebook.  Please feel free to pass it on to others.

Praying and believing together for healing,

Brian

Comments
  1. Michelle Glover.. says:

    brian ill do this with you sweety, my heart is also heavey for all involved..thanks for sending me this.. and i love you too…

  2. Deb says:

    I will pray and fast thru lunch every day! ALL things are possible with God, what part of “all” is hard to understand, right? Either we believe His word… or what else is there??

    Believing together,

    Debra

  3. Terry says:

    Hello Brian – i will do this for my dad, i so want my dad to get better and thank you very much for doing this. Love you Brian

Leave a Reply

