Chapter 4

The number of days doing a complete fast is growing.  The seventh straight day has come and I am still ‘not hungry’.  God is definitely up to something here because this surely is not normal for me (I am used to eating every 2-3 hours).  All I can contribute it to is God giving me the grace to persevere. Some highlights from over the last few days:

Fast – Day 5

Had a great day at work today.  As the day progressed, I was feeling pretty good, so since I didn’t eat breakfast, I decided to continue pushing through the day in a spirit of humility and prayer before the Lord and I didn’t eat. At lunchtime, I closed the door to my office and got down on my knees to pray for the people at work.  Then early afternoon, the Lord opened a door for me to share a bit of my own testimony with a co-worker about coming back to work at Hanford and the struggles I’ve had.   It encouraged me to be able to share… I think they were encouraged as well.  On my way home, I wanted to pray, but found it very challenging to keep focused on praying.  My mind kept wandering.  Thoughts kept coming about doing a full three or seven day fast – really wanting to hear the voice of the Lord clearly on this.  We will see.  I will take it a meal at a time.  The challenge I have fasting at work is that I really need the ability to think clearly and objectively and prolonged fasts can create some fuzziness, slowed responses and not clear speaking.  The Lord will help me do what it is He wants me to accomplish.  I feel no pressure to ‘perform’ for the Lord though.  It’s really all about drawing closer to Him… not how long I can go without food.

If a person asks you for something, give it to him. Don’t refuse to give to someone who wants to borrow from you. Matthew 5:42

All that I have is God’s – I am just the steward of it.  If He wants what He has given me to go to someone else, I need to be willing and joyous about giving fully and unconditionally.

_______________________________________

Before bed tonight, pulled out the guitar again and played some worship music – Amazing Grace (my chains are gone), Lord I lift your Name on High, Above All… wow, personally playing worship music during a fast is incredible! I have no other words at this time to describe it, except incredible!

Fast – Day 6

Woke up this morning feeling a bit sluggish – good, but slow.  It’s the fast I’m sure.  I enter today, again, with great anticipation as to the works of God.  They are always motivated by His great love for us.  This I can be confident of.  My hearts desire is to know Him more deeply and to hear His voice more clearly.  It’s simple, yet most impacting and most important.  Nothing else compares to the greatness of knowing Jesus.

There have been definite times when I feel tired and feel weak, but this scripture comes to mind, which I would say out loud – Psalm 73:26 – My body and my mind may become weak, but God is my strength. He is mine forever.

On my way to work this morning, the Lord dropped this into my spirit:

My future success depends less upon me developing my own skills and pursuing my own interests, but rather on me developing a stronger, healthier relationship with Jesus and pursuing the things that He considers important.

“Don’t store treasures for yourselves here on earth where moths and rust will destroy them and thieves can break in and steal them. But store your treasures in heaven where they cannot be destroyed by moths or rust and where thieves cannot break in and steal them. Your heart will be where your treasure is.  Matthew 6:19-21

Fast – Day 10

This morning I am feeling a bit melancholy – slow, but clear minded.  I didn’t receive anything this morning when I awoke about stopping the complete fast, so I am going to keep going.  I believe the Lord is in the midst of doing something here – both in me and through me and I don’t want to miss any part of it.

You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what He has promised. Hebrews 10:36

On the way to work, I usually spend the time praying and worshiping.  This morning I am feeling quiet and peace.  I think I will spend this time just being quiet, stilling my mind, thoughts and spirit and just listening for the voice of the Lord.  I can’t wait!  This morning I heard “Speak life over those you work with… by name.”  I will start doing that today.

Something amazing happened at work today. The Lord put several ‘puzzle’ pieces together; giving me a focus and plan for the rest of the fast. The company that I work for is sponsoring some ‘tent sites’ for a local church who is putting on a fundraiser to help increase awareness for local homeless people.  The event is called ‘Raise Your Tents’.  It struck me… as I had heard of this before and read a flyer about it when I went to CUP church on Thanksgiving.  As I sat at my desk thinking about it, I went to their website to gather more info.  I began thinking about my recent prayers wanting to do some of the things listed in Isaiah 58 – the kind of fast that God approves – like clothing the naked, feeding the hunger, taking care of those in trouble, shelter for the wanderer, etc. As I sat reading thinking about ‘Raise Your Tents”, I felt Holy Spirit tell me, not only do I want you to do this… to feel what it’s like to be homeless… but I want you to feel what it’s like to be homeless and hungry!  Wow!  I instantly my mind began to race, as I’ve never gone more than 7 days in a complete fast (consuming only water and juice).  I thought about my wife alone at home, needing to go to work every day, etc. I thought about my prayers recently – wanting opportunities during this fast do some things listed in Isaiah 58.  I think this is it.  But, deep inside me, there was a rock solid peace about being a part of ‘Raise Your Tents’.  So, next week, I will be pitching a tent (with many others) on the church’s lawn and sleeping overnight there for as many nights during the 14th and 23rd as I can.  I will also be continuing my full fast through that time as well.  I am confident that this is what I am to do and God will give me the strength to complete the task.  I look forward to seeing what He is going to do through it.  Raise your Tents runs from this Friday the 14th through next Sunday the 23rd (which happens to be the last day of our church’s 21 day fast).  Hmm – I don’t think that is just a coincidence.

You must persevere, so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what He has promised. Hebrews 10:36

Jesus replied, “Why are you afraid? You do not have enough faith.” Matthew 8:26

Leave a Reply

