Homeless, Hungry & Alone… chapter 2

Posted: January 26, 2011 in Homeless, Hungry & Alone...
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Chapter 2

Pastor Wes recommended that we read Jentezen Franklin’s book “Fasting”. So, Debra and I read it together.  It is an excellent book on what fasting is (and what it is not), why fasting is highly encouraged on a regular and consistent basis and why there is power in fasting.  Here are some excerpts from the book:

  • Fasting prepares the way for God to give you fresh revelation, fresh vision and clear purpose – fast, worship and seek Him.
  • Satan gets disturbed – and defeated – when you decide to do more than be a Sunday-morning Christian
  • When you fast and pray you should expect miracles to happen
  • When the Holy Spirit calls you to fast, He is preparing you for what lies ahead
  • The Lord rewards diligence
  • Fasting puts me in the mainstream of God’s priorities
  • Do you remember the last time you were lovesick for God?
  • “From the first day Daniel began to fast, God heard”
  • Fasting will help identify hidden areas of sin in my life
  • God wants me to ask Him for things that are bigger than myself

_____________________________________

As the fast begins, I want to make sure my mind and my heart are on the same page in terms of my motivation and focus of this fast (I know that my ‘human will’ can sometimes cause me to want to fast for at least partially the wrong reasons). So, today I read Isaiah 58, which is very detailed scripture on the type of fast that God approves. I find it interesting that along with the sacrifice of the whole fast experience, God also wants me to not just focus on myself, but look to meet the needs of those around me… during the fast.  This type of fasting really gets God’s attention (and He promises some pretty cool stuff through it as well):

Isaiah 58:

6 “No, this is the kind of fasting I want: Free those who are wrongly imprisoned; 
lighten the burden of those who work for you.
 Let the oppressed go free,
 and remove the chains that bind people.

7 Share your food with the hungry and give shelter to the homeless.
 Give clothes to those who need them,
 and do not hide from relatives who need your help.

8 “Then your salvation will come like the dawn and your wounds will quickly heal. Your godliness will lead you forward,
 and the glory of the Lord will protect you from behind.

9 Then when you call, the Lord will answer, ‘Yes, I am here,’ he will quickly reply. “Remove the heavy yoke of oppression. Stop pointing your finger and spreading vicious rumors!

10 Feed the hungry, and help those in trouble. Then your light will shine out from the darkness,
 and the darkness around you will be as bright as noon.

11 The Lord will guide you continually, giving you water when you are dry
 and restoring your strength.

_____________________

So as an initial response to Isaiah 58, we bagged up most of the non-perishable food in our pantry that we would not be eating during this fast and we are going to give it to our church’s food pantry. This is exciting!   As I read those Isaiah verses over and over, I couldn’t help but think – there is definitely something here for us – something God wants to do in us and through us. We look forward to more opportunities to do what Isaiah 58 says!  Also, I will not be going to the gym during the fast and use my normal gym-time to spend more time with the Lord.  We also plan on trying to keep the 21 days ‘fresh’ as well – integrating playing some worship music (I play some guitar and Debra the tambourine/talking drum), going on some prayer walks, reading the bible together at a coffee shop (but we’ll just drink water or juice), etc. We are excited to see what God has in-store for us, our family and our community!  My plan is to journal/blog each of the 21 days of our fast – to be able to record the things that God brings us and does through out and after the fast.

Church was awesome this morning – corporately the start of our church fast.  Debra and I didn’t eat all day until dinner, in which we made a Southwest Corn & Black Bean Salad (see recipe below – it’s really yummy and healthy).  Debra hasn’t been feeling well for the last few days and she really needed to get something in her stomach.  We both did some praying this afternoon – Debra as she laid down to rest and me as I was on my way to do pick up some “Daniel Fast” groceries.  The store was packed and my brain started doing some weird things from not eating, so I quit part way through my grocery shopping and headed home.

As I write this, we just finished eating a bit of the salad and now my stomach is ‘talking’ to me… oh, there’s Debra’s too!  Ah, the joys of fasting 🙂

It’s 7:30pm, we just finished playing about 40 minutes of worship music.  I’m glad it’s just the two of us… I can’t play guitar very well (but I’m getting better) and our voices aren’t the best either (I think those are getting better too)… however, God doesn’t care and that’s who it’s for anyway.  I love playing and singing with my wife though… she can play a mean tambourine!

I can feel a stirring inside myself that something very cool is going to begin to unfold as this fast continues!

Check out Chapter 3 tomorrow…

________________________

Southwest Corn and Black Bean Salad

This bean, corn and nuts in this salad combine to create 19 grams of protein per serving. This is a very flavorful salad and easy to make ahead.

Ingredients:

11⁄2 cups corn kernels (fresh or frozen)

1/3 cup pine nuts

¼ cup lime juice

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro

2 (14.5 ounce) cans black beans, rinsed

2 cups shredded red cabbage

1 large tomato, diced

½ cup minced red onion

Preparation:

1. Place pine nuts in a small dry skillet over medium-low heat and cook, stirring, until fragrant and lightly browned, 2 to 4 minutes.

2.Whisk lime juice, oil, cilantro, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Add the corn, pine nuts, beans, cabbage, tomato and onion; toss to coat. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

3. Freshly ground pepper and salt to taste just before serving. Yield: four servings

Comments
  1. Deb says:

    Another nice post my love. Have to honestly admit that I chuckled when we were packing up most of the food in our pantry and you said, “this is exciting!” lol, you are def a peculiar people… =))

  2. It’s nice to hear about humanitarian efforts. We should all care a little more about our neighbors.

Leave a Reply

