Most of us have looked in the mirror at one time or another and wished we were a few pounds lighter – or maybe your are one of the few that has a hard time keeping weight on and wished you could gain a few pounds. For the most of us though, we would agree that it is much easier to put on the weight than to take it off.  Wouldn’t it be nice if we could instantly transform our bodies into what we consider our ‘perfect figure’ – and with little effort?  Unfortunately, it doesn’t work that way.  The truth is, it doesn’t work that way in our spiritual lives either. Recently our pastor gave a message about being transformed by God’s Word.

He said that the Word of God (the Bible) is the seed and it is my responsibility to prepare the “soil” of my heart to receive that seed so that it can produce good fruit.  If I don’t properly prepare my heart to receive, then the devil will come and steal that seed away by causing me distractions worries, fears, possessions, busyness, pursuit of worldly wealth, commitments, etc.  I must choose to allow the Word of God to change and transform me.  Attending church alone won’t transform me.  Singing worship songs alone won’t transform me.  Just listening to a good sermon won’t transform me.  It is only the power of the Holy Spirit as revealed through the Word of God getting deep in to my spirit and soul that transforms me.  But, it’s my choice.  The power of the Holy Spirit is there and available for anyone who wants it.  The question is – how bad do I want it?

We’ve all been there; where we try to read the Word in a rush – have to leave for work in a few minutes, the kids are getting up shortly, my favorite TV show is coming on in 10 minutes, gotta get a work out in today, etc.  If you think about it, during those ‘rush’ times, how much do we really remember?  How much of what we read do we give time to meditate on and allow it to ‘stick’ with us and gets deep down in our heart, spirit and soul?  I remember those days in spring some years ago when I was farming cherries in Yakima.  I needed to prepare the soil for the upcoming fruit season.  The trees had been growing for decades and most of them were fully grown, but every year, the ground had to be prepared with new fertilizer, nutrients, water, etc. I couldn’t rely upon last year’s efforts to produce a good crop this year.  It was an on-going process year after year of preparing the soil so I could give the trees the best opportunity to produce great fruit.  And the better the fruit, the more everyone benefited.  When I would walk out into the orchard at harvest time, the better the fruit I saw on the trees, the better I knew the fruit packing house was going to be pleased, the pickers would be happy and my bank account would benefit. Our own lives are the same.  What quality of ‘fruit’ do people see hanging on us?  Do we continually prepare our spiritual ‘soil’ for the good seeds of God’s Word in order to give our ‘fruit’ the best opportunity to be mature, healthy and sweet? Are we getting enough of His ‘seeds’, ‘water’ and ‘fertilizer’ to produce a healthy crop? Great spiritual ‘fruit’ doesn’t happen on it’s own.  It takes effort.

I know for myself, I have to purposefully set time aside to read God’s Word and pray and not to try and ‘cram’ that time into my busy day.  When I ‘cram’, it doesn’t work. Having a plan also helps me stay focused.  There are many bible reading plans out there on the internet.  In the past, I’ve usually chosen a plan in which I’ve read through the bible in one year.  However, right now, because of my current work schedule, I have chosen a plan where I read through the entire bible in two years –  http://www.northcoastcalvary.org/?2-year-bible-reading-plan The key here is not how much I am reading, but is what I am reading changing me? Each time, before I read, I ask the Lord to prepare the ‘soil’ of my heart to receive His Word. I pray this Psalm:

Open the eyes of my heart, oh Lord, to the wonders of your Word. Psalm 119:18

We want to read His Word, not to just to get our reading done and say that we did, but to allow it to transform us.  That takes time, effort and diligence.  Reading the bible doesn’t do us any good if it isn’t changing us for the better – making us more like Jesus.

 

“Everyone who hears my words and obeys them is like a wise man who built his house on rock.  It rained hard, the floods came, and the winds blew and hit that house. But it did not fall, because it was built on rock. Everyone who hears my words and does not obey them is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. It rained hard, the floods came, and the winds blew and hit that house, and it fell with a big crash.”  Matthew 7:24-27


Comments
  1. What i find difficult is to find a blog that can capture me for a minute but you definitely add value. Bravo.

    • brian hetzer says:

      Hi Audry – I’m glad you liked the blog. I try to write from my heart… honestly and openly. Come back often (or signup for the email updates)… as I posted new blogs and videos on a regular basis. Are their specific subjects that you like or are interested in? Thank you! Brian

  2. acne says:

    You made some decent points there. I appeared on the web for the issue and located most people will go along with together with your website.

  3. Tetris says:

    I discovered your blog website on google and verify a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the excellent operate. I simply extra up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. In search of ahead to reading extra from you later on!…

  4. mahjong says:

    There are definitely plenty of particulars like that to take into consideration. That may be a great level to deliver up. I offer the thoughts above as basic inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you deliver up where an important thing will probably be working in sincere good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged round things like that, but I’m positive that your job is clearly identified as a good game. Both girls and boys feel the influence of only a moment’s pleasure, for the remainder of their lives.

Leave a Reply

