I’m watching you…

Posted: December 8, 2010 in Family Ties - relationships, Inspirational Video Archives
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s hard to see ourselves through the eyes of our children, but what would they say if someone asked them to describe us?  What words would they use, what values and morals would they say we exhibit?

Children are a gift from the LORD; they are a reward from him. Psalm 127:3

And for those of you with daughters (just so you don’t feel left out), I once heard a speaker tell a group of fathers, “If you have daughters, let me give you a bit of advice – be the man you would want your daughter to marry. When your daughter is old enough to look for a potential husband, statistics have shown that she will most likely find herself with someone who most resembles you – in character, attitude, values, etc.  Be the man you would want your daughter to marry.

______________________________________________

Brian,

I love this video, thanks for posting. To share with others about my father(s); I had both a father and step dad. Neither showed me much attention nor can I say I felt loved by them. I mainly felt rejected. My first husband was a mix of both. Unloving, selfish, and abusive. When I met the Lord and gave my life over to Him, He revealed Himself and His love to me. It was and still is intoxicating. I knew I couldn’t find the right husband until I really knew what true love was and knew that regardless of anything, God was the only true love I’d ever need to make my life complete. As much as God hates divorce, He is also a God of reconciliation. He reconciled me and consecrated me with Himself… What an awesome God we serve, Amen? Once I began seeing myself the way God sees me and truly feeling and knowing His love; I was able to understand a father’s love.

Then I met (you) Brian. Neither of us perfect, both having unpleasant past experiences, yet both having given our lives over to Christ. I believe we are both great testimonies of how only Christ can change hearts and lives from the inside out. I was able to know him as a friend first and I watched (closely) the way he acted, the way he treated others. I saw no deception, no malice, nothing rude or abusive. What I did see was kindness and humility. I saw the light of Jesus in him. Because I had my heavenly Father’s example, I ended up with a husband with Godly qualities. And the best part is He continues to change us from glory to glory daily! Hallelujah and Amen!

For anyone reading, I don’t write this to puff my husband up. The Bible tells us in 1 Thessalonians 5:11 to encourage and build each other up. The KJV states to edify; the root of which means to (of course build), to rebuild, restore, to promote growth in Christian wisdom, affection, grace, virtue, holiness, and blessedness.

It goes on saying to acknowledge those who work hard among you, who care for you in the Lord and who admonish you. Hold them in the highest regard in love because of their work. Live in peace with each other.

I respect my husband and hold him in the highest regard in love. I thought I’d take this opportunity to build him up and hopefully encourage others to do the same to those you should in your life…

Thanks for letting me share. =)

Deb

Comments
  1. Michael G. says:

    Very powerful clip. Thank you. Parents have such an important role to play. Is it not the hardest, yet most satisfying job in the world?

Leave a Reply

