When evening came, his disciples went down to the lake, where they got into a boat and set off across the lake for Capernaum. By now it was dark, and Jesus had not yet joined them. A strong wind was blowing and the waters grew rough. When they had rowed three or three and a half miles they saw Jesus approaching the boat, walking on the water; and they were terrified. But he said to them, “It is I; don’t be afraid.” Then they were willing to take him into the boat, and immediately the boat reached the shore where they were heading.

Why is it that when we are in the midst of life’s storms, we are afraid to let Jesus into our ‘boat’?  Like the disciples, we know He is there, but we are terrified… of the situation we are in and also, sometimes, Jesus himself? It was only after Jesus spoke to them, “It is I; do not be afraid,” did they recognized His voice and they were ‘willing to take Him into the boat’.  Do I know Jesus well enough – is my relationship with Him growing to where I can recognize Him and trust Him when He comes in the midst of my storm?  This reminds me of a story I once heard about a man living in the Midwest when a tremendous flood hit. Overnight the waters rose and the levies broke, flooding the small neighborhoods on its banks.  This particular man, was abruptly awoken that morning by his neighbor pounding on his door telling him to get out before his home was washed away.  But, he told his neighbor ‘no’.  He was going to stay and that God would save him.

The waters continued to rise and eventually began pouring into his home to the point where the only ‘safe’ place was his rooftop.  Climbing to the roof, he sat and prayed asking God to rescue him and save Him from the flood.  About 10 minutes went by and a boat came – “Hey mister, hop in the boat and I’ll take you to dry land.”  The man replied, “No thanks, God is going to save me.”  The waters continued to rise. Another 10 minutes went by and a helicopter came hovering nearby – “Hey mister, I’m going to throw you a tow line to rescue you.”  Again, the man replied, “No thanks, God is going to rescue me.”  Soon after, the waters rose above the rooftop of his home and he drowned.  Moments later, he found himself standing before the Lord.  “Lord, why didn’t you come and rescue me when I cried out to you?,” the man asked.  The Lord replied, “What do you mean?  I sent a boat and a helicopter!”

This story really reiterates the above passage of scripture.   God loves us and is always there in the midst of our trials and our troubles – to provide comfort, strength, guidance and rescue.  But too often, we don’t recognize the simplicity of God’s answers to our cries for help.  We expect God to come in glorious thunder (and sometimes He does), but often His reply to our cry for help is found in the simple things – an unexpected phone call, a surprise visit, a kind neighbor, a timely encouraging word or $20 found in an old coat pocket!  Let’s be open (and thankful) for the ‘little’ things that come our way.  It was the simple act of letting Jesus into their boat that immediately brought the disciples to dry, firm ground.

Comments
  1. Rhonda says:

    Brian,
    This is exactly what I needed to hear this morning. I have been greatly anxious over my health and a situation I am in. The Lord has been speaking to me over and over to Wait,Rest and Trust in him. Our waiting times will strengthen us and refine our hearts. It is so hard to wait.

Leave a Reply

