Hungry for Adventure

Posted: October 23, 2010 in Forged - victory & strength in hard times
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I don’t know if it’s just a “guy thing” or just my own “wiring”, but I’ve really been hungry lately for an adventure!  What kind, I’m not real sure or picky… I’ll leave that up to God.  He’s really the ultimate ‘adventure guide’!  Recently, I’ve caught myself daydreaming BIG dreams… wishing I was somewhere else doing something else.  Climbing a mountain, deep sea fishing, taking a crazy step of faith, living in such a way that I must totally trust God for everything, reaching out to the poor with an amazing love of acceptance, just doing something I’ve never done before, etc. Ah, for the love of adventure! Do I dare pray for one though?  Do I dare say, “Lord, bring it on – don’t let my heart become stale and stagnant.  Keep it alive, fresh and engaged. I’m yours! Send me?”

Did you know that most God ordained dreams die because we are not willing to do something that seems illogical – that there is no such thing as risk free faith? We can’t experience success without risking failure. So, I ask myself ‘what am I willing to ‘lose’ in order to win – to run after a God ordained dream?’Too often though, I find myself focusing on what I can’t do – my disabilities, fears, restrictions and past failures.  I know that I shouldn’t, but it seems like so many times when I am presented an opportunity to take a risk, step out of my comfort zone, I freeze – Ahhh, the agony of being human!  Lord, save me from myself!

I’ve heard it said that often times, our periods of greatest “defeat” or depression come right after a time or seasons of great victories, accomplishments or personal growth.  Makes me think of Elijah in the Bible.  His life was not short on adventures.  One particular story that stands out was when God used him to defeat the 400 prophets of Baal and show God’s supremacy to the Israelites (1 Kings 19).  After this amazing victory, he went into hiding, fell into a season of depression and actually asked God to let him die!  Crazy, bizarre and weird!  I’ve realized that sometimes this can be the ‘cycle’ of life  – especially for those who like to live ‘on the edge’.   The challenge can be however, learning to properly manage the extreme ‘mountains’ and ‘valleys’.  I believe that God calls us to live, or at least have seasons of adventure in our life.  But, at the same time, He that gives the adventures (mountaintop experiences) is also wants to be our Source of help and comfort during our low times (valley experiences) as well.  God provided for Elijah food, water and encouragement during his ‘low’ time.  God also gave him rest and prepared him for his next adventure – a 40 day journey!

God wants to be and is very capable of being all that we need.

 

His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of Him… 2 Peter 1:3

Lord, thank you for this life you have given us – the mountain top experiences and the times in the valleys.  Help us to live in anticipation for what You are going to do next in us and through us. Also help us to rely upon you for our sustenance, strength and comfort during times of struggle.  Lord, to us may you be like the bookends on a shelf, holding and supporting the pages of our lives. Amen!

Leave a Reply

