Miracle Boys

Posted: September 24, 2010 in Children
Tags: , , , , , , ,

September 19, 2010

Brian,
I wanted to share with you the story of my pregnancy with my twin boys. A few months into my pregnancy we found out I was carrying twins. What a blessing! I was monitored closely. Later in my pregnancy, I was going in weekly for “stress tests” to ensure the safety of the boys. One morning I woke in the early hours with a horrible pain that would not stop. I had a stress test scheduled for that morning, so I mentioned the pain while I was there. The neo-surgeon on call told me that I had pre-eclampsia and that I would need to deliver the twins that day. I was two months away from my due date at this point. They started giving the boys hormones to help develop their lungs while I tried to hang on as long as I could. Things seemed to be stabilizing – The new neo-surgeon on call came in and announced that I did NOT have pre-eclampsia and that I would be going home that afternoon. Within the hour my OB came by, after relaying what the surgeon told me – he instructed me not to move until the doctor that diagnosed my pre-eclampsia came back on call. Within hours my vitals began going downhill. My liver, kidneys, etc. were all beginning to fail and my systems were shutting down. I had an emergency c-section that evening.
My point is – severe pre-eclampsia can destroy you in no time. I have read stories where women couldn’t even make it to the hospital in time. I firmly believe that God was watching out for us that day – as he always is. If I would have been sent home, as that doctor had ordered, my twins and I would have all perished. Praise God that I had my doctor there who could sense what was going on. The entire pregnancy with the twins, I never once thought once that they would NOT make it. It was by the faith I had, the prayers that everyone around me sent up and the grace of God that these boys survived.
They were born two months premature. They were so small, but p e r f e c t. They are five years old now and going strong!
Some people may just pass this off as luck, but I have been through so many situations where I have seen the hand of God – You just have to be aware. God watches over us all and he is always there, especially in the darkest of times.

Laura

Replies

September 19, 2010

Hey Laura – thank you so much for sharing your incredible story! You and your boys are a miracle from God Himself. Reading your story put tears in my eyes. Just yesterday I was reading Isaiah 43 and your story reminded me of what i read:

1 But now, this is what the LORD says—
he who created you, O Jacob,
he who formed you, O Israel:
“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by name; you are mine.
2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
you will not be burned;
the flames will not set you ablaze.
3 For I am the LORD, your God,
the Holy One of Israel, your Savior;
4 Since you are precious and honored in my sight,
and because I love you…
5 Do not be afraid, for I am with you;
I will bring your children from the east
and gather you from the west.

Laura – God’s blessing on you and your family. I pray that the Lord will use your incredible story to touch many lives! Stay in touch! Please feel free to poke around the blog site, leave comments and feedback and come back often!

God Bless,
Brian

_____________________________________

Leave a Reply

