This is an incredible story from Candie, a gal I work with:

My son was born with spina bifida. I remember when he was first born, I used to think that God was punishing me. It took me some time to realize that God gave me the priviilage and strentgh to raise my son in the Lord and teach him good values so that he could go on to be someone special. He wasn’t punishing me he knew I could be a good mother to my son and love him more than anyone else. I guess the turning point for me was in the hospital about a week after he was born and the hospital wanted to know if I would like to consider giving Brent up for adpotion. At that moment I remember hearing a voice saying “no” I gave him to you. I want you to raise him. I have never looked back after that moment. Brent and I are going through a troubled patch right now, but I know that God will see us through and show me the way. Brent has had a very hard life. He has gone through 13 surgries and so many other issues that come up with this defect. Are there times I think I could have done something to prevent him from having his defect? Of course. Not as much as I used to but I still think about it. There are times I feel very guilty, there are times I am very sad for the things he has missed out on, and there are times I stop and think I wouldn’t change him for anything. He can be such a kind, understanding and compassionite person. I know he will be a great pastor and God put him on this earth to lead his people home to him through my son. And I am so very proud of him.

Replies

September 22, 2010

Hey Candie – wow! What an incredible story of love, grace and purpose! What an incredible journey for you! Yes, you and only you could be the mom he needed. God is good – all the time! Thank you for sharing your story Candie. I pray others may be blessed and encouraged through it!

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.” 2 Corinth. 1:3-4

______________________________________

Leave a Reply

