Who’s good enough to get into Heaven?

Posted: September 14, 2010 in Surrender - raising the white flag
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I love praying for people and their needs – not because that’s how I get into heaven, but because I believe the bible when it says, “The prayers of the righteous are powerful and effective.”  I also believe that God responds to righteousness.  So what does it mean to be ‘righteous’? It means to be in right standing with God.   Since God is perfect and so is His heaven, we have a serious problem.  If we have done just one thing wrong, we are unrighteous and the God’s Word says “the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God.”  Look at it this way.  Heaven is a perfect place where God resides.  Everything about Heaven is perfect – always has been and always will be – including everyone who is there.  Now, you and I are not perfect.  Even we have even said one lie, if we’ve thought one bad thought, if we’ve said one mean word… we are a sinner and not perfect.  If God were to let you and I into His Heaven just the way we are now, the moment we stepped in, we would just have made His Heaven no longer perfect.  But because God loves us so much, He had to come up with another plan; knowing that by ourselves, we were lost to Him.  That’s where the Jesus factor comes in. John 3:16For God so loved the world (that is you and me) that He gave His only Son (to die on the cross for our sin) that whomever would believe in Him, would not die (go to hell), but have eternal life (in Heaven with God).”  The bible also says in Romans that the penalty of our sin is death… or eternal separation from God.  So, someone had to die for our sin.  God in His great love for us chose to sacrifice His Son in our place so that we could have eternal life with Him.  What does God desire of us – to accept the sacrifice of His Son in our place and to have a personal relationship with Him.  If you have never accepted God’s gift of salvation through Jesus, or have been away from Him for awhile, I would encourage you to pray this simple prayer, believing that Jesus died for your sins and without Him you cannot get into heaven.  He loves you, desires a personal relationship with you and wants to spend eternity with you in Heaven!

Lord, I am a sinner in need of a Savior.  I believe that Jesus died on the cross so that I may be forgiven of my sin and without Jesus I have no hope of Heaven.  Forgive me of all my sin and please help me to live my life for you from this day forward.  Amen.

Congratulations! Your new life has just begun!  I would strongly encourage you to find a Jesus centered, bible believing church to connect with.  They will help you to strengthen your relationship with Jesus and grow in your new spiritual journey.

Please feel free to leave me questions here or on the “Questions?” page at the top?

Welcome to the Family!

Brian

Leave a Reply

